For a second year in a row, the winner of the Dramatic Audience Award at Sundance also took home the Grand Jury Prize for the U.S. Dramatic competition. The excellent Whiplash, starring Miles Teller as a jazz drummer bending under the tough-love tutelage of J.K. Simmons’ harsh instructor, followed in the footsteps of last year’s audience/jury favorite Fruitvale Station. Whether this says more about the sheer quality of these winning films or more about the increasingly populist bent of the jury selections is up for debate. Regardless, Whiplash kicked off the festival on a high note, shattering the recent trend of programmers selecting innocuous, forgettable fare for opening night. This year, Sundance’s first movie—and its first major acquisition, as it sold to Sony Pictures Classics for about $3 million—was also its most widely acclaimed.

Another film about music, Alive Inside: A Story Of Music & Memory, took home the Audience Award for U.S. Documentary, while jurors opted instead for Rich Hill, about kids growing up in a one-horse Missouri town. Meanwhile, the Nick Cave documentary 20,000 Days On Earth took home two prizes for editing and directing of a World Cinema Documentary, while the comedy Dear White People was handed a special jury award for Breakthrough New Talent. Some of the festival’s most talked-about titles, including Zach Braff’s sophomore feature Wish I Was Here and Richard Linklater’s ambitious Boyhood, screened out of competition and were thus ineligible for awards. Here’s the full list of Sundance feature film winners.


U. S. Grand Jury Prize — Dramatic: Whiplash

U. S. Grand Jury Prize — Documentary: Rich Hill

World Cinema Grand Jury Prize — Dramatic: To Kill A Man

World Cinema Grand Jury Prize — Documentary: Returns To Homs

Audience Award — U.S. Dramatic: Whiplash

Audience Award — U.S. Documentary: Alive Inside: A Story Of Music & Memory

Audience Award — World Cinema Dramatic: Difret

Audience Award — World Cinema Documentary: The Green Prince

Audience Award — Best of NEXT: Imperial Dreams

Directing Award — U.S. Dramatic: Fishing Without Nets, Cutter Hodierne

Directing Award — U.S. Documentary: The Case Against 8, Ben Cotner and Ryan White


Directing Award — World Cinema Dramatic: 52 Tuesdays, Sophie Hyde

Directing Award — World Cinema Documentary: 20,000 Days On Earth, Iain Forsyth and Jane Pollard


Cinematography Award — U.S. Dramatic: Low Down, Christopher Blauvelt

Cinematography Award — U.S. Documentary: E-Team, Rachel Beth Anderson and Ross Kaufman


Cinematography Award — World Cinema Dramatic: Lilting, Ula Pontikos

Cinematography Award — World Cinema Documentary: Happiness, Thomas Balmès and Nina Bernfeld


U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Award for Breakthrough New Talent: Dear White People, Justin Simien

U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Award for Musical Score: Kumiko, The Treasure Hunter, composed by The Octopus Project


U.S. Documentary Special Jury Award for Use of Animation: Watchers Of The Sky, directed by Edet Belzberg

U.S. Documentary Special Jury Award for Intuitive Filmmaking: The Overnighters, directed by Jesse Moss


World Cinema Dramatic Special Jury Award for Ensemble Performance: God Help The Girl

World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Award for Cinematic Bravery: We Come As Friends


Editing Award — U.S. Documentary: Watchers Of The Sky, Jenny Golden and Karen Sim

Editing Award — World Cinema Documentary: 20,000 Days On Earth, Jonathan Amos

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award — U.S. Dramatic: The Skeleton Twins, Craig Johnson and Mark Heyman


Screenwriting Award — World Cinema Dramatic: Blind, Eskil Vogt

Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize: I Origins