Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.

The Writers Guild gave awards to Louis C.K., True Detective, and The Simpsons

There are about 8,000 professional award shows every year, ranging in importance from Grammy to Oscar, but there’s only one that truly matters: The Writers Guild Awards. Obviously, writers are some of the most important people in the entire world, and that’s especially true for the entertainment industry. Without writers, we’d all just be filthy animals, grunting at each other in the mud. We would have no drama to be shocked by, no comedy to laugh at, and no stories to pass down to our children. Writers are literally modern-day gods, with the awe-inspiring ability to create worlds and—just as easily—destroy them.

Writers also happen to be profoundly intelligent, which is why so many of the TV shows and movies that the Writers Guild Of America chose to honor during its annual award ceremony are absolutely the most-deserving. The Grand Budapest Hotel took home Best Original Screenplay, The Imitation Game took Best Adapted Screenplay, and The Internet’s Own Boy: The Story Of Aaron Swartz won Best Documentary Screenplay, all of which were probably the right pick. Even if they weren’t, writers said they are, and that makes it true.


The rest of the winners are equally impossible to argue with: True Detective won Best Drama Series and Best New Series, Louie won for Best Comedy Series and Louis C.K. himself won the Episodic Comedy award for “So Did The Fat Lady,” and The Simpsons’ “Brick Like Me” episode won the Animation award. Even the Outstanding Achievement In Video Game Writing award (which usually goes to an Assassin’s Creed game by default, since not too many game writers are guild members) went to a worthy nominee: The Last Of Us: Left Behind. Basically, the writers got it right, as they always do.

The full list of winners is below:

Film Winners

Original Screenplay: The Grand Budapest Hotel, Screenplay by Wes Anderson; Story by Wes Anderson & Hugo Guinness; Fox Searchlight

Adapted Screenplay: The Imitation Game, Written by Graham Moore; Based on the book Alan Turing: The Enigma by Andrew Hodges; The Weinstein Company

Documentary Screenplay: The Internet’s Own Boy: The Story of Aaron Swartz, Written by Brian Knappenberger; FilmBuff


Television And New Media Winners

Drama Series: True Detective, Written by Nic Pizzolatto; HBO

Comedy Series: Louie, Written by Pamela Adlon, Louis C.K.; FX

New Series: True Detective, Written by Nic Pizzolatto; HBO

Episodic Drama: “The Last Call” (The Good Wife), Written by Robert King & Michelle King; CBS


Episodic Comedy: “So Did the Fat Lady” (Louie), Written by Louis C.K.; FX

Long Form Original: Deliverance Creek, Written by Melissa Carter; Lifetime

Long Form Adapted: Olive Kitteridge, Teleplay by Jane Anderson, Based on the novel by Elizabeth Strout; HBO


Short Form New Media—Original: “Episode 113: Rachel” (High Maintenance), Written by Katja Blichfeld & Ben Sinclair

Animation: “Brick Like Me” (The Simpsons), Written by Brian Kelley; Fox

Comedy/Variety (Including Talk)—Series: Last Week Tonight with John Oliver, Writers: Kevin Avery, Tim Carvell, Dan Gurewitch, Geoff Haggerty, Jeff Maurer, John Oliver, Scott Sherman, Will Tracy, Jill Twiss, Juli Weiner; HBO


Comedy/Variety—Music, Awards, Tributes—Specials: 71st Annual Golden Globe Awards, Written by Barry Adelman; Special Material by Alex Baze, Dave Boone, Robert Carlock, Tina Fey, Jon Macks, Sam Means, Seth Meyers, Amy Poehler, Mike Shoemaker; NBC

Quiz And Audience Participation: Hollywood Game Night, Head Writer: Grant Taylor; Writers: Alex Chauvin, Ann Slichter; NBC


Daytime Drama: General Hospital, Written by Ron Carlivati, Anna Theresa Cascio, Suzanne Flynn, Kate Hall, Elizabeth Korte, Daniel James O’Connor, Elizabeth Page, Katherine Schock, Scott Sickles, Chris Van Etten; ABC

Children’s Script—Episodic And Specials: “Haunted Heartthrob” (Haunted Hathaways), Written by Bob Smiley; Nickelodeon


Documentary Script—Current Events: “United States of Secrets: The Program (Part One)” (Frontline); PBS; Written by Michael Kirk & Mike Wiser; PBS

Documentary Script—Other Than Current Events: “League of Denial: The NFL’s Concussion Crisis” (Frontline), Written by Michael Kirk & Mike Wiser; PBS


TV News Script—Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin, Or Breaking Report: “Nelson Mandela: A Man Who Changed the World” (World News with Diane Sawyer), Written by Dave Bloch, Lisa Ferri, Diane Sawyer; ABC News

TV News Script—Analysis, Feature, Or Commentary: “Nowhere to Go” (60 Minutes), Written by Oriana Zill de Granados, Scott Pelley, Michael Rey; CBS


Radio Winners

Radio Documentary: “Three Shots Rang Out: The JFK Assassination 50 Years Later,” Written by Darren Reynolds; ABC News Radio


Radio News Script—Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin, Or Breaking Report: “World News This Week,” Written by Andrew Evans; ABC News Radio

Radio News Script—Analysis Feature, Or Commentary: “Civil Rights at 50,” Written by Jane Tillman Irving; WCBS Radio


Promotional Writing Winner

On-Air Promotion (Television, New Media, Or Radio): “How I Met Your Mother,” Written by Dan Greenberger; CBS


Video Game Winner

Outstanding Achievement In Video Game Writing: The Last of Us: Left Behind, Written by Neil Druckmann; Sony Computer Entertainment


Share This Story