The Thermals will release a new album, Desperate Ground, on April 16. Produced by John Agnello (Dinosaur Jr., Sonic Youth, The Hold Steady), the record is the band’s sixth, but its first with new label Saddle Creek. As a press release notes, band and label “have been bros for years… The Thermals have toured with Cursive, Hutch and Kathy put on the very first Bright Eyes show in Portland, and The Faint used to crash on Hutch’s floor.”

A tracklist, as well as a full list of upcoming tour dates is below.


Desperate Ground:
1 Born to Kill
2 You Will Be Free
3 The Sunset
4 I Go Alone
5 The Sword By My Side
6 You Will Find Me
7 Faces Stay With Me
8 The Howl of the Winds
9 Where I Stand
10 Our Love Survives

March 1—Noise Pop—San Francisco, California
March 2—Homestead Lanes Bowling Alley—Cupertino, California
March 7—285 Kent—Brooklyn, New York
March 8—Beinekie Events Barn at Hamilton College—Clinton, New York
March 9—Maxwell’s—Hoboken, New Jersey
March 13-16—SXSW—Austin, Texas
March 18—Check Yo Ponytail At Echoplex—Los Angeles, California