Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.

The Libertines announce their first album in 11 years

British indie rock band The Libertines have been popping off and on the musical radar for about a year now, ever since the group announced its latest reunion effort back in the summer of 2014. At the time, the band—contemporaries of The Strokes who broke up in 2004 due to a mixture of conflicting personalities and chemical dependencies— promised a new tour and album, and have spent the last year making both planned and surprise appearances at musical venues like the recent Glastonbury Festival in the U.K. Those shows have been a mixture of old material and new, with recently written track “Gunga Din” making its way into playlists at both Glastonbury and The Netherlands’ Best Kept Secret Festival.


Now, the band has announced the upcoming release of Anthems For Doomed Youth, the group’s first album in 11 years. Unsurprisingly, “Gunga Din” is on there, along with 11 other tracks, plus four more reserved for a bonus edition. Anthems is set for a September 4 release.

Anthems For Doomed Youth:

01 Barbarians
02 Gunga Din
03 Fame and Fortune
04 Anthem for Doomed Youth
05 Heart of the Matter
06 Belly of the Beast
07 Iceman
08 You’re My Waterloo
09 Fury of Chonburi
10 The Milkman’s Horse
11 Glasgow Coma Scale Blues
12 Dead for Love
13 Love on the Dole [Bonus]
14 Bucket Shop [Bonus]
15 Lust of the Libertines [Bonus]
16 7 Deadly Sins [Bonus]

Share This Story