Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.

The Coen brothers named co-presidents of this year’s Cannes jury

The Wrap reports that Joel and Ethan Coen will serve as the presidents of the jury for the 68th annual Cannes Film Festival, which runs from May 13 to May 24. This is the first time that the jury has had two presidents, which is just the sort of twist one would expect from the maverick filmmakers. The Coens are no strangers to Cannes, having screened nine films there since 1987. They also won the Palme d’Or for Barton Fink, the Best Director award for Fargo and The Man Who Wasn’t There, and the Grand Prix for Inside Llewyn Davis.

Upon the announcement of the news, Presidents-elect Coen issued the following statement: “Presiding over the jury is a special honor, since we have never heretofore been president of anything.” They then added, “We will issue further proclamations at the appropriate time.”


Share This Story

Get our newsletter