Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.

Talib Kweli released a surprise B-sides album featuring Kanye West and Killer Mike

Once-prolific hip hop artist Talib Kweli has been relatively quiet of late; although he put out a live album last year, and has continued to drop the occasional mixtape, the Black Star member hasn’t had a major release since 2013’s semi-autobiographical Gravitas. So members of the Kweli Club were in for a nice surprise today, when the artist announced, sans fanfare, the release of a new album of unreleased tracks and B-sides, including performances from big names like Killer Mike, Kanye West, and Common. Titled Train of Thought: Lost Lyrics, Rare Releases & Beautiful B-Sides Vol. 1, the album is a mix of unused songs from a variety of Kweli’s projects over the years, including “Bright As Stars,” an unreleased Black Star cut. The track listing for the album, which also includes production credits for Hi Tek and DJ Quik, is available below. Train Of Thought can be purchased at Kweli’s web site.

Train Of Thought: Lost Lyrics, Rare Releases & Beautiful B-Sides Vol. 1:

1. Space (produced by Dave West) (3:49)
2. 2000 Seasons (prod. by Hi Tek) (4:13)
3. Bright As The Stars – Black Star (prod. by Ayatollah) (4:33)
4. Wack Niggaz feat. Common, Kanye West & Consequence (prod. by Kanye West) (3:52)
5. Boomerang- featuring NIKO IS, K’Valentine & Cory Mo (prod. by Cory Mo ( 3:20)
6. Ocean Song feat. Mela Machinko (prod. by Rahki) (3:42)
7. 7:30 feat. RES (prod. by DJ Quik) (4:06)
8. Fortfied Live feat. Yasiin Bey (fka Mos Def) & Mr. Man (prod. by Hi Tek) (4:36)
9. Tryin To Breathe feat. Killer Mike (prod. by Midi Mafia) (3:41)
10. Distractions (prod. by Oh No) (3:54)


Share This Story

Get our newsletter