Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.

Sleater-Kinney announces its first live album

Sleater-Kinney (Photo by: Burak Cingi/Getty)

After a triumphant reunion and a strong contender for best album of 2015 by a group that had disbanded for nearly a decade, Sleater-Kinney is going the way of so many artists before it by seeing if people want to buy songs they already own in a live format. Yes, like every fifth Rush album, the band’s next record is a live one, taken from a show in France during the group’s 2015 tour in support of No Cities To Love. Titled Live In Paris, it contains a concert recorded at Paris venue La Cigale on March 20, 2015. It’s the first time the group has released a live album, possibly because it wanted to wait until it had something worthy of being put out.

In anticipation of the January 27 release, the band has released a video composed of performance clips for the record’s ass-kicking take on “Surface Envy.” You can watch that, as well as check out the cover art and track listing, below.


Sleater-Kinney—Live in Paris:

1. Price Tag
2. Oh!
3. What’s Mine is Yours
4. A New Wave
5. Start Together
6. No Cities to Love
7. Surface Envy
8. I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone
9. Turn It On
10. Entertain
11. Jumpers
12. Dig Me Out
13. Modern Girl

[Via Pitchfork]

Share This Story