With a collective cry of “aliens and serial killers? I mean, c’mon!”, the critics who make up the Broadcast Television Journalists Association have officially declared Glee and American Horror Story creator Ryan Murphy a “genius.” Murphy will receive the Louis XIII Genius Award—named for a nearly $3,000 bottle of cognac—at the Critics’ Choice Television Awards next Thursday. (Murphyphiles can watch the awards on The CW, starting at 8 p.m. Eastern/Pacific.) About the award, BTJA President Joey Berlin says,  “From poignant reality-based movies to dark and twisted horror to musical theater, Ryan Murphy’s creativity knows no bounds,” presumably adding that The New Normal was probably a fluke, and it’s not really fair to hold that one against him. Past recipients of the Louis XIII Genius Award include Judd Apatow, Ethan Hawke, Richard Linklater, and Julie Delpy.