Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.
Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.

Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame nominees announced: Beastie Boys and Laura Nyro, together at last

Nominees were announced today for the 2011 induction into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame. As in years before, only a handful of these artists will actually make it in; the rest will have their entire catalogs erased in a mass purging of irrelevant music, and no one will ever speak of them again on punishment of death. Among this year’s first-timers: Bon Jovi, Donovan, Dr. John, Neil Diamond, and Alice Cooper, which gave Rolling Stone all the excuse it needed to run your new desktop wallpaper. Returning nominees (it’s possible we were exaggerating a bit earlier) include Beastie Boys, LL Cool J, Tom Waits, and J. Geils Band, whose induction will provide the much-needed historical precedent of “________ didn’t get in, but J. Geils did?” The full list:

Alice Cooper

Beastie Boys

Bon Jovi


Neil Diamond


Dr. John

J. Geils Band

LL Cool J

Darlene Love

Laura Nyro

Donna Summer

Joe Tex

Tom Waits

Chuck Willis


Share This Story

Get our newsletter