Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.

Paul McCartney, The Shins, Sharon Van Etten, and more featured on Starbucks Christmas comp

Starbucks’ Hear Music label and Concord have announced Holidays Rule, a compilation devoted to the months that peppermint mochas are available. The record will be released Oct. 30—just in time for Halloween—and features tracks from Paul McCartney, The Shins, Andrew Bird, Sharon Van Etten, and more. A full tracklist is below, along with samples of all 17 tracks and Van Etten and Rufus Wainwright’s take on “Baby, It’s Cold Outside.”


Holidays Rule:
01 fun.: "Sleigh Ride"
02 The Shins: "Wonderful Christmastime"
03 Rufus Wainwright with Sharon Van Etten: "Baby, It's Cold Outside"
04 Paul McCartney: "The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire)"
05 Black Prairie: "(Everybody's Waitin' for) The Man With the Bag" [ft. Sallie Ford]
06 The Civil Wars: "I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day"
07 Calexico: "Green Grows the Holly"
08 AgesandAges: "We Need a Little Christmas"
09 Holly Golightly: "That's What I Want For Christmas"
10 Irma Thomas with the Preservation Hall Jazz Band: "May Everyday Be Christmas"
11 Heartless Bastards: "Blue Christmas"
12 Eleanor Friedberger: "Santa Bring My Baby Back to Me"
13 Fruit Bats: "It's Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas"
14 Y La Bamba: "Señor Santa"
15 The Punch Brothers: "O Come, O Come, Emmanuel"
16 The Head & the Heart: "What Are You Doing New Year's Eve"
17 Andrew Bird: "Auld Lang Syne"

Share This Story