The hipsterati have known it was coming for ages, but the collaborative album from Conor Oberst, Jim James of My Morning Jacket, and M. Ward has been officially announced. "Cool," you say to yourself. "I like a couple of those guys." And then you hear the name: Monsters Of Folk. Presumably that's some sort of irony, but fellas, you're stuck with that name forever! It's going to be on every copy of your SELF-TITLED disc, which is coming out September 22. Here's some flim-flam from the press release, along with a full track list. I don't know what "drum kills" are, either. Oh, and the "fourth" that the press release refers to is Bright Eyes' Mike Mogis, who produced the record. If you're super-cool, you remember him from Lullaby For The Working Class.

"All four members play every instrument on the album, supplying everything from drum kills to cascading backing vocals.  The songs – some road-worn fables, some intimate and intricate with electronic elements, some woozy and sun-soaked – are everything one expects from these four musical minds collaborating together.  The album exudes a warm, organic spaciousness, filled by brilliant choruses, intoxicating harmonies and effortless melodies, as each member brings his own strengths to the table to create one perfect whole."

1.    Dear God (sincerely M.O.F.)
2.    Say Please
3.    Whole Lotta Losin'
4.    Temazcal
5.    The Right Place
6.    Baby Boomer
7.    Man Named Truth
8.    Goodway
9.    Ahead of the Curve
10.  Slow Down Jo
11.  Losin Yo Head
12.  Magic Marker
13.  Map Of The World
14.  The Sandman, the Brakeman and Me
15.  His Master’s Voice