Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.

Neil Gaiman among honorees of American Library Association's annual children and young adult awards

Writer Neil Gaiman and artist Dave McKean have won the American Library Association's prestigious John Newbery Medal for their 2008 book The Graveyard Book. The Newbery is awarded to the year's "most distinguished contribution to children’s literature."

Australian writer Melina Marchetta walked away with the Young Adult Library Association's Michael L. Printz Award, given "for excellence in literature written for young adults," for her novel Jellicoe Road. Also of note, Laurie Halse Anderson, author of Speak and Catalyst received the Margaret A. Edwards Award for making a significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature.

The complete list of winners can be found at the ALA site.


Share This Story