Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.

Meryl Streep adds the Cecil B. DeMille Award to her trophy collection

Golden Globes 2010: Meryl Streep (Screenshot: YouTube)

Meryl Streep better start preparing one of those famous humble acceptance speeches of hers, because she has another Golden Globe coming her way. The shadowy cabal known as the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA) has announced that Streep will receive this year’s Cecil B. DeMille Award, an honorary statuette recognizing “outstanding contributions in the world of entertainment.” So is this one of those gimme awards for perennial bridesmaids who have never been able to nab a competitive trophy? Not at all. Streep has been nominated by the HFPA 29 times— a Globes record—and she’s won eight times. Winning the DeMille Award puts the actress in the company of such recent honorees as Denzel Washington, Martin Scorsese, Jack Nicholson, and, um, Woody Allen.

In its early years, this award usually went to powerful producers and directors like DeMille himself, who won the same year he helmed The Greatest Show On Earth. But, eventually, it started going to actors and actresses. The worst one can say about the Cecil B. DeMille Award is that the HFPA tends to give it to people who are on the back halves of their careers. Streep is 67, and HFPA president Lorenzo Soria praises her for “shattering gender and age barriers.” By now, Streep should be used to getting Golden Globes. After all, she’s done it again:

And again:

And again:

And again:

Streep will graciously accept this most recent award during the next Golden Globes telecast, scheduled for Sunday, January 8, 2017.


[via Variety]

Share This Story