Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.
Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.
(Photo: Graham Denholm/Getty Images)
(Photo: Graham Denholm/Getty Images)

Leonard Cohen, the dapper gravel-voiced poet of folk-pop, just gave word that his 14th studio release, You Want It Darker, will be appearing for everyone to fawn all over this fall. Produced by his chip-off-the-old-block singer-songwriter son, Adam Cohen (We Go Home), the upcoming album will feature nine new songs (or eight with a reprise), which unnamed sources close to Cohen’s PR team are calling “a masterpiece” and “classic Cohen.” The title track can be heard in part on the the fifth episode of the third season of Peaky Blinders, released on Netflix this past June. (NSFW due to nudity, erotic asphyxiation, and hallucinations.)

Cohen’s last album, Popular Problems, was released in September of 2014 to universal acclaim (based upon 26 reviews on Metacritic). It received a B+ from The A.V. Club’s Zach Schonfeld, who called it “the artist’s leanest disc since Various Positions in 1984, as well as one of his sharper and more musically adventurous.”

Illustration for article titled Leonard Cohen announces his 14th studio album, iYou Want It Darker/i

You Want It Darker track list

1. “You Want It Darker”

2. “Treaty”

3. “On The Level”

4. “Leaving The Table”

5. “If I Didn’t Have Your Love”

6. “Traveling Light”

7. “It Seemed The Better Way”

8. “Steer Your Way”

9. “ String Reprise/Treaty”

Share This Story

Get our newsletter