Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.

Jim James announces solo album debut for Feb. 5

The last time My Morning Jacket frontman Jim James went solo, it was as Yim Yames on his 2009 EP, Tribute To. But in a press release, James announced that he has been recording under his own name for his first full-length, Regions Of Light And Sound Of God. The album—slated for a Feb. 5 release on CD, vinyl, and digital—was inspired by the 1929 graphic novel God's Man about an artist's relationship with temptation and love. James engineered and played the instruments for all of the tracks himself, saying that his goal was to make the album sound "as if it were the past of the future." A track list is below. [via Pitchfork]


1. State Of The Art
2. Know Til Now
3. Dear One
4. A New Life
5. Exploding
6. Of The Mother Again
7. Actress
8. All Is Forgiven
9. God's Love To Deliver

Share This Story