In 1971, future dads everywhere grooved to the strange sounds of The Electric Light Orchestra. Forty years later, ELO frontman Jeff Lynne has re-recorded some of ELO’s greatest hits for dads both old and new to enjoy. On Oct. 9, Lynne will release Mr. Blue Sky—The Very Best Of Electric Light Orchestra, as well as a solo album of rock 'n' roll standards.

In a press release, Lynne explains his motivation for redoing his classic songs, saying, “I’m not saying the old versions aren’t good; I like them very much. We were doing our best, but experience and technology also play a big part, and these new ones sound much more solid and tight.” How exactly the songs were changed during this re-recording is unclear, but, as the industry saying goes, “If it ain’t broke, fix it anyway so you can repackage it as new content.” Judge whether these songs warrant another purchase by perusing the tracklisting below.


Lynne’s next solo album, Long Wave—in which he similarly re-records a tribute to his favorite rock 'n' roll songs from the '50s and '60s—will also be released Oct. 9.

Mr. Blue Sky—The Very Best Of Electric Light Orchestra:
1. Mr. Blue Sky
2. Evil Woman
3. Strange Magic
4. Don’t Bring Me Down
5. Turn To Stone
6. Showdown
7. Telephone Line
8. Livin’ Thing
9. Do Ya
10. Can’t Get It Out Of My Head
11. 10538 Overture
12. The Point Of No Return

Long Wave
1. She
2. If I Loved You
3. So Sad
4. Mercy, Mercy
5. Running Scared
6. Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered
7. Smile
8. At Last
9. Love Is A Many Splendored Thing
10. Let It Rock
11. Beyond The Sea