Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.
Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.

Here’s where and how you can tune in to the Oscars on Sunday

Academy Award-nominated Viola Davis presenting at the 2015 Oscars (Photo: Robyn Beck/Getty images)
Academy Award-nominated Viola Davis presenting at the 2015 Oscars (Photo: Robyn Beck/Getty images)

The 86th Academy Awards begin this Sunday, February 26, at 8:30 pm. Eastern/7:30 p.m. Central, with red carpet coverage beginning at 7 p.m. Eastern/6 p.m. Central. Here’s how you can watch:

Twitter

The official Oscars Twitter account is @TheAcademy, but the real fun will happen at @TheAVClub, where our film critics and staff will begin live-tweeting at 8:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. CT.

Advertisement

Livestream

Not one to make things simple, ABC won’t let just anybody livestream the Oscars. In order to sign in at abc.com/watch-live, you’ll need to be a subscriber to a participating cable service and live in Chicago, Fresno, Houston, Los Angeles, New York City, Philadelphia, Raleigh-Durham, or San Francisco. You can check the provider list and get other questions answered on the ABC FAQ, and if you’re a DirecTV subscriber, you can get the instructions on livestreaming on the Oscars FAQ.

TV
The Oscars will be broadcast on ABC beginning at 8:30 p.m. ET.

Who will win

Film editor A.A. Dowd’s predictions mostly point to another La La Land sweep—the film cleaned up at the Golden Globes and has 14 Oscar nominations—though that’s a major point of contention among the staff here. We’ll have full Oscars coverage on the site, including a running list of winners, right here at The A.V. Club, and you can see the list of nominees here.