Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.
Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.

Gorillaz finally announce new album, share 4 tracks

(Image: YouTube)
(Image: YouTube)

After several years of teases, some recent updates to the mythology, and Damon Albarn getting weirdly chatty with a random fan, the Gorillaz have finally announced a new album. Titled Humanz—which is pretty funny—the record features a ton of collaborations from people like Vince Staples, De La Soul, Grace Jones, Mavis Staples, Danny Brown, Popcaan, Jehny Beth, and Noel Gallagher. Plus, Ben Mendelsohn from Rogue One will continue his streak of being in everything by doing narration of some kind.


To help hype up the announcement of Humanz, Damon Albarn basically took over all British radio stations and Apple’s Beats 1 in order to premiere four new tracks, and all of them have now been uploaded to YouTube for everyone who lives in 2017 and therefore doesn’t listen to the radio anymore.

First is “Saturnz Barz,” which features Popcaan and gets a fun, animated video:

The end of that video leads right into “We’ve Got The Power,” which features Jehnny Beth from Savages and Noel Gallagher from Oasis:

Then there’s “Andromeda” (featuring D.R.A.M.):

And “Ascension” with Vince Staples:

That’s all in addition to the previously released “Hallelujah Money.” Humanz will be available on April 28, and you can see the full track list (and all of the collaborators) at this Consequence Of Sound link.

Share This Story

Get our newsletter