Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.

Florence And The Machine announces new album

Arguably the most popular band with a plus-sign in its name is coming out with a new album this summer. How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful is Florence + The Machine’s follow-up to 2011’s chart-topping Ceremonials, and will be released June 1 in the U.K. via Island Records and June 2 in the U.S. via Republic Records. Florence Welch and her band of various cogs have already released a single off the album, “What Kind Of Man,” accompanied by an appropriately emotional video and a full tracklist.

The album was produced by Markus Dravs (Arcade Fire, Coldplay, Björk) and includes contributions from Goldfrapp’s Will Gregory, as well as Paul Epworth, Kid Harpoon, and John Hill. Welch said in a press release, “The new album became about trying to learn how live, and how to love in the world rather than trying to escape from it.” Based on the teaser video—where she really seems to be getting to know herself—it’s probably safe to say she’s well on her way to figuring that all out.

How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful

01 Ship To Wreck
02 What Kind Of Man
03 How Big How Blue How Beautiful
04 Queen Of Peace
05 Various Storms & Saints
06 Delilah
07 Long & Lost
08 Caught
09 Third Eye
10 St Jude
11 Mother


Share This Story

Get our newsletter