Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.
Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.

Directors Guild Awards honor Alfonso Cuarón, Adam McKay, and Bill Hader

Illustration for article titled Directors Guild Awards honor Alfonso Cuarón, Adam McKay, and Bill Haderem/em
Photo: Frazer Harrison (Getty Images)

When the nominees for the Directors Guild Of America’s annual awards were announced, we felt compelled to point out that the vast majority of them—all on the film side and most on the TV side—were men. Now that the winners of the DGA Awards have been announced, we feel like it’s similarly worth noting that all of the winners are men. The film winner, the TV winners, the TV special winner, the documentary winner, the variety series winner, and even the commercial winner were all men. Of course, it wasn’t until last week that a bunch of Hollywood producers announced a plan to actively try and hire more female directors, and the movie industry wouldn’t have realized it needed something like that without going through a year like 2018 where only eight percent of the highest-grossing movies were directed by women.

Anyway, as for who these man-winners are: Alfonso Cuarón won for best feature film for Roma (continuing the rough awards season for A Star Is Born), Bo Burnham won the award for first-time feature film with Eighth Grade (another one that A Star Is Born was up for), Adam McKay won the TV drama award for his work on HBO’s Succession, Bill Hader beat out Amy Sherman-Palladino and Daniel Palladino to win the TV directing award for Barry, and Ben Stiller won the TV movie/limited series award for Escape At Dannemora.

Most of the nominees and winners are below, and the full list is over at The Hollywood Reporter.


Best Feature Film Director

Bradley Cooper, A Star Is Born

Alfonso Cuarón, Roma

Peter Farrelly, Green Book

Spike Lee, BlackKklansman

Adam McKay, Vice

Best First-Time Feature Film Director

Bo Burnham, Eighth Grade

Bradley Cooper, A Star Is Born

Carlos Lopez Estrada, Blindspotting

Matthew Heineman, A Private War

Boots Riley, Sorry to Bother You

Best Directing For A Dramatic Series

Jason Bateman, Ozark, “Reparations”

Lesli Linka Glatter, Homeland, “Paean To The People”

Chris Long, The Americans, “START”

Adam McKay, Succession, “Celebration”

Daina Reid, The Handmaid’s Tale, “Holly”

Best Directing For A Comedy Series

Donald Glover, Atlanta, “FUBU”

Bill Hader, Barry, “Chapter One”

Hiro Murai, Atlanta, “Teddy Perkins”

Daniel Palladino, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, “We’re Going To The Catskills!”

Amy Sherman-Palladino, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, “All Alone”

Best Directing For TV Movies And Miniseries

Cary Fukunaga, Maniac

David Leveau and Alex Rudzinski, Jesus Christ Superstar

Barry Levinson, Paterno

Ben Stiller, Escape At Dannemora

Jean-Marc Vallée, Sharp Objects

Best Documentary Directing

Morgan Neville, Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

Ramell Ross, Hale County This Morning, This Evening

Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi and Jimmy Chin, Free Solo

Tim Wardle, Three Identical Strangers

Betsy West and Julie Choen, RBG

Share This Story

Get our newsletter