Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.

Beck, Broken Social Scene to appear as fictional bands on Scott Pilgrim soundtrack

Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World, the upcoming adaptation of Bryan Lee O'Malley's indie-centric graphic-novel series, is getting some pedigreed indie stars to appear on its soundtrack. According to Pitchfork, Beck and Broken Social Scene will contribute music, both under their own names and under the fictional guises of SEX BOB-OMB (Beck) and Crash And The Boys (Broken Social Scene). These made-up bands will also appear in the film, with the former being Scott Pilgrim's own scrappy, underdog group. In addition, everyone from Metric and Frank Black to the Rolling Stones and T. Rex will have songs on the soundtrack—including Canadian outfit Plumtree, whose "Scott Pilgrim" inspired the name of the comic. The film hits theaters on August 13; the soundtrack comes out on August 10. Here's the full track listing:

01 SEX BOB-OMB (Beck): "We Are SEX BOB-OMB"
02 Plumtree: "Scott Pilgrim"
03 Frank Black: "I Heard Ramona Sing"
04 Beachwood Sparks: "By Your Side"
05 Black Lips: "O Katrina!"
06 Crash And The Boys (Broken Social Scene): "I'm So Sad, So Very, Very Sad"
07 Crash And The Boys (Broken Social Scene): "We Hate You Please Die"
08 SEX BOB-OMB (Beck): "Garbage Truck"
09 T. Rex: "Teenage Dream"
10 The Bluetones: "Sleazy Bed Track"
11 Blood Red Shoes: "It's Getting Boring By The Sea"
12 Metric: "Black Sheep"
13 SEX BOB-OMB (Beck): "Threshold"
14 Broken Social Scene: "Anthems For A Seventeen-Year-Old Girl"
15 The Rolling Stones: "Under My Thumb"
16 Beck: "Ramona (Acoustic)"
17 Beck: "Ramona"
18 SEX BOB-OMB (Beck): "Summertime"
19 Brian LeBarton: "Threshold 8 Bit"


Share This Story