Adventure Time

Further validating the tastes of The A.V. Club to the extent we’re starting to suspect that they’re just trying to butter us up, The Peabody Awards have announced the newest round of honorees in a multi-part series of announcements that have been steadily dribbling out over the past week or so. Today’s winners are in the documentary, educational, children’s and public service categories, and include the fun-for-all-ages Adventure Time, which was honored for its “uniquely imagined, truly odd fantasy world.” Also honored in the children’s category was the Disney Junior series Doc McStuffins, with which The A.V. Club is not as familiar, but is sure must be pretty good (it won a Peabody, after all).

In the documentary category, the Peabodys honored HBO’s new favorite documentarian, Alex Gibney, with a special citation for his film Mr. Dynamite: The Rise Of James Brown, which aired on the premium channel last year. Indicating that perhaps the awards-granting body had some of the good stuff left over after its Adventure Time viewing party, Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey was also honored as a “educational, eye-popping, near-psychedelic tour of our universe and beyond, [and] a passionate brief on behalf of science itself.”


Other honorees in the documentary and educational categories include Netflix’s anti-poaching documentary Virunga, a BBC documentary on ebola, HBO’s The Newburgh Sting, and some PBS documentaries that are probably less fun to watch than Adventure Time, if valuable contributions to the public discourse. Winners will be honored on May 31 at a ceremony hosted by two-time Peabody winner Fred Armisen. A full list of the honorees can be found here.